top of page
Search

Evolving Goals

Updated: Jul 27, 2020


Photo by Danielle Macinnes via Unsplash

When I was applying to the Master of Arts in Education (MAED) program at Michigan State University (MSU), I had already spent 4 years working and studying overseas and was in the middle of my second year back in the U.S. teaching Chinese at an independent school. I loved teaching; being inside a classroom was a refreshing change from my previous role as an administrator for a study abroad program in China, and it inspired me to do everything I could to make sure I was having a positive impact on my students. Therefore, my goals when applying for the MAED program centered around making sure my teaching aligned with the most up to date research on education. Some topics that I hoped to learn more about included:

  • Inclusivity in the classroom

  • Overcoming implicit bias

  • Promoting holistic education

Shortly after I was accepted to the MAED program, I moved closer to my family and found another administrative position at a university. Although I was no longer in a classroom, as a program manager for an academic summer enrichment program I still saw a direct connection between the MAED program and my work. In fact, I felt that it was even more important for me to learn more about these issues because part of my new responsibilities included training college students who, for the most part, had no background in education and would be teaching for the first time. Although I would no longer be on the ‘front lines’ teaching, I was excited by the potential of guiding new teachers and implementing significant structural changes to our program. I was accomplishing my learning goals through the MAED program but a meeting with my supervisor at the time really challenged me to think about the true value of my education. The realization that knowledge of educational theory would only be helpful if I was able to initiate change in my organization led me to add an additional goal for my education: learn to be a leader. As a result, I enrolled in several courses focused on leadership and promoting change, which allowed me to think specifically about my own context and put some of the theories I was learning about into practice. Another change in positions, this time within the same institution, prompted me to reconsider my learning goals once again. As an administrator in the Fellowships and Study Abroad offices, I facilitate a program that seeks to have a long-lasting impact on how our students think in future but am no longer involved with the direct education of students. This change in context, along with my own experiences abroad, led me to explore the topic of learning outside of formal institutions – an essential part of the learning experience abroad.

Upon reflection, the measured pace at which I completed the MAED program and the wide range of courses available have allowed me to accomplish a series of goals that have evolved alongside my career in education. Although I am nearing the completion of the program, I know that I will continue benefiting from it because it has equipped me to continue learning long past graduation.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page